top of page
Search

Poem 1/19/2023



Luggage, baggage

A dusty old sack.

Kicked to the side.

Shoved to the back.

When strength is needed and valor is sought,

These time worn carriers are given little thought.

When preparing for war, I crave a blade of steel.

I covet brave warriors who only require a hearty meal.

I long for a steed with a noble stance.

Surefooted and strong, ready for it’s deadly dance!

I want armor strong and bound very tight.

I will withstand no chinks for this long fight!


But…in the back of the room, the dusty sack beckons.

As I dig through it’s contents, the good memories it reckons!

And I realize no blade hewn to a deadly sharp,

Brings the encouragement of a story recounted as song on a harp.

I ponder the importance of hooves ready and sure,

Without glad history that wisdom will lure.


Baggage is never useless when history and encouragement are carried inside.

For without these carriers, valor of old would have surely faded and died.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page